The Latest

Posted on: October 11, 2017

STAR Transit announces Driver and Employee of the Year

STAR Transit EOY_DOY Recepients


TERRELL, Texas (October 11, 2017) – Two individuals were honored at last night’s second annual STAR Transit Employee Appreciation Dinner. Ron Myers was announced as the 2017 Driver of the Year and Johnny Dorsey was announced as the 2017 Employee of the Year.

Nominees for Driver of the Year included Myers along with Ashley Kincaid, Keith Ford, Rickey Ragan, Bennie Cox, Dwayne Johnson, Romia Edinbyrd and Tony Robinson.

Mr. Myers celebrated his 3rd anniversary with STAR Transit in October and drives in Mesquite. Aaron Reece, Chief Operations Officer said, “Ron is a fantastic driver and very well respected among his peers and passengers. He is truly deserving of this award”.

As the recipient of Driver of the Year, Mr. Myers received $1,000.00.

Nominees for Employee of the Year included Dorsey along with Aaron Reece, Jeff Rohman, Kevanisha Daniels, Kim Britton, Rosalyn Bain, Teresa Elliott, Terry Youngblood, Tommy Henricks, Trisha Janicek, Valerie Ashurst and Vickie Dabney.

Mr. Dorsey will celebrate his 8th anniversary later this month. Omega Hawkins, Executive Director said, “Mr. Dorsey is an exceptional employee.

He is looked upon as a leader and inspiration to everyone. STAR Transit is lucky to have him. He wears many hats and does so with a positive attitude. He will represent this title well.”

As the recipient of Employee of the Year, Mr. Dorsey received $500.00 and two paid days off.

STAR Transit launched the Employee of the Year and Driver of the Year initiative in September of 2015. These programs aim to recognize outstanding employees we have on our team.

Congratulations to Ron and Mr. Dorsey!

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email